A Facebook story

March 7, 2015 § 1 Comment

Inside Move | Ken Auster

Ken Auster | Inside Move

By PERI SCHWARTZ
peri@perischwartz.com

It all began when John Seed, the art blogger for the Huffington Post and a Facebook friend, posted his interview with Sandy Ostrau. Her exhibition was at the Thomas Reynolds Gallery in San Francisco and the work captivated me. As a painter, I feel connected with the artists from the Bay Area and am strongly influenced by Richard Diebenkorn’s figurative work. Here was a gallery showing work that I related to.

I became FB friends with the gallery and loved what Thomas posted. Along with posts about work he was exhibiting, he put up interesting articles and photographs. I certainly would have missed the talk Gretchen Diebenkorn gave about her father if he hadn’t posted a link.

When he posted the painting “Inside Move” by Ken Auster in December, I shared it on FB. My cousin Charles in Boston fell in love with the painting, especially because it reminded him of a bar he used to go to in lower Manhattan. He showed it to Jackie, his wife. Charles’ birthday was approaching and Jackie wanted to buy him the painting as a surprise. I encouraged her, she called the gallery, and now they have a beautiful painting by Ken Auster in their living room.

§ One Response to A Facebook story

  • Ken Auster says:

    Thomas, Thanks for the short story. I remember as if it was yesterday, showing you my work and starting a 20 year relationship. My first gallery. We really haven’t changed a lot in those years. We still paint and write and love art and creativity. You were very important in my career and I will never forget. K

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Facebook story at Art Matters.

meta

