Charlie’s desk comes home

January 15, 2024 § 1 Comment

Charles Campbell’s desk from the Louvre Frame Shop.

CHARLES CAMPBELL got an early gift for his 109th birthday today: the rolltop desk he used after he opened the Louvre Frame Shop in 1947, before it spawned his legendary gallery in North Beach in 1972.

The desk was a gift from one of the self-described Louvrettes, Jude Sargent, who was a gilder at the shop. Sargent claimed the desk when the Louvre closed and has lived with it ever since — until he sent an email in early December.

I am writing because I am downsizing the contents of my home, and one of the pieces of furniture that I am letting go is a small oak roll-top desk from the Louvre that was the business desk that Charles was using when Nancy bought the frame shop from him. It stayed with the frame shop, and because I was very fond of it, when the Louvre closed I was allowed to take it home with me, where I have enjoyed it for many years. Now it is time for me to let it go.

It is a sweet desk, made in Mexico (by Leonardo Garcia in Parral, Chihuahua, according to the mark under the drawer), and I thought it would be nice for it to go to someone who could appreciate the provenance (as it were).

As it happens, Charles and Glenna Campbell’s longtime home is being maintained as something of a shrine that hosts art lovers and peacemakers from around the globe. Now Charlie’s first base of business in the art world will become part of the menagerie.

Says his former Louvre colleague Jude Sargent: “I’m thrilled! This seems like the best possible destination for the desk.”

§ One Response to Charlie’s desk comes home

  • Barbara Janeff says:

    Charlie would have loved getting his old desk returned, especially with such consideration, thanks and care. Something to smile about.

    Barbara Janeff

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Charlie’s desk comes home at Art Matters.

meta