Return to San Francisco

July 27, 2023 § 4 Comments

2121 ART SPACE joins forces with the Thomas Reynolds Gallery for the month of August to present “San Francisco: Still Beautiful,” an exhibition of cityscape paintings by San Francisco artist Veerakeat Tongpaiboon.

“Wielding a loaded brush, Tongpaiboon attacks his canvases boldly, favoring intense colors and skewed perspectives,” writes Southwest Artist magazine. Says the artist: “I like speed, I like buildings, I like cars. The energy of the streets of San Francisco continues to inspire me.” A native of Thailand, Tongpaiboon has been painting since he was 10 years old, winning major international competitions even as a teenager. In 1992 he came to San Francisco and earned his MFA degree at the Academy of Art. He has been a full time painter since, with work in collections throughout the U.S. and abroad.

This exhibition marks a return to San Francisco of the Thomas Reynolds Gallery, a fixture on Fillmore Street for 25 years before relocating to Santa Barbara in 2020.

Veerakeat Tongpaiboon with recent San Francisco cityscape paintings.

§ 4 Responses to Return to San Francisco

  • Hi Thomas,

    This is wonderful news! I will be preparing my monthly MC newsletter next week and would love to share this exhibition if you would like me to do that.

    The oil painting progresses, is about the only news I have to share, but I’ve also been trying my hand at making cherry pie. As it is getting time for another “Pie Meeting” I am prepared to come with pie in hand to share with you and Barbara – (though that doesn’t get you out of the house!) We can still go get a bite to eat and you two can still have pie for your evening dessert!

    How’s that?

    Ruth

    >

  • Patricia Martin says:

    Wait, You’re coming back to the Bay Area? That would be wonderful. This exhibition should be stunning. I hope to drop in for sure. Best regards, Pat Martin

  • Donna Domino says:

    Yes, The City is still beautiful.

  • Megan Gagnon Bigelow says:

    Fabulous exhibition and opening!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Return to San Francisco at Art Matters.

meta